Home / Sports News (page 20)

Sports News

Azhar, Yasir get place in ICC top 20 rankings

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan’s Azhar Ali and Yasir Shah are ranked No. 8 and No. 14, respectively in the MRF Tyres ICC Test Player released Tuesday. Azhar stands at No. 8 in the batting rankings, while Yasir lies at No. 14 spot in the bowling rankings, said an ICC press release issued …

Read More »

Cricket: De Villiers, Steyn back in Test squad

Johannesburg: AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn were on Tuesday named in a 14-man squad for South Africa’s one-off day-night Test against Zimbabwe, starting in Port Elizabeth on December 26. Batsman De Villiers has not played Test cricket since January 2016 while fast bowler Steyn suffered a fractured shoulder in …

Read More »

Gleeful Aussies look to 5-0 Ashes rout over England

A 5-0 series whitewash and the playing futures of England veterans Alastair Cook and Stuart Broad were focal among Australia’s reaction to winning back the Ashes on Tuesday. Steve Smith’s team reclaimed the Ashes after bowling England out for an innings and 41-run victory in the third Test in Perth …

Read More »

Football: Leading English Premier League scorers

Leading English Premier League scorers after Monday’s match: 14 goals: Salah (Liverpool) 12 goals: Kane (Tottenham), Sterling (Man City) 10 goals: Aguero (Man City), Lukaku (Man Utd), Rooney (Everton) 9 goals: Morata (Chelsea) 8 goals: Gabriel Jesus (Man City), Lacazette (Arsenal) 7 goals: De Bruyne (Man City), Vardy (Leicester) 6 …

Read More »

Pakistan wins silver medal in Commonwealth Wrestling Championship

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan’s ace wrestler Muhammad Inam has bagged silver medal in Commonwealth Wrestling Championship after finishing second in his weight group at the completion of his matches in Johannesburg, South Africa. Inam, who went down fighting 3-6 against India’s Somweer Singh in his first bout, settled the score by beating …

Read More »

Big Bash League 2017-18 kicks off tomorrow

SYDNEY: Big Bash League (BBL) 2017-18 is all set to kick off at Sydney on Tuesday (tomorrow), Samaa reported. Eight teams namely Adelaide Strikers, Melbourne Stars, Melbourne Renegades, Sydney Thunder, Sydney Sixers, Hobart Hurricanes, Perth Scorchers and Brisbane Heat will battle each other for BBL 2017-18 crown. The first match …

Read More »